Seafield Road, Edinburgh EH6 7LD
Telephone 0131 554 3496
The Leith Cemetery Company Ltd was formed in 1887 and opened Seafield Cemetery the following year. The first burial at Seafield was the military funeral of an Evan Edwards on 10th June 1888. Leith’s rich history as Edinburgh’s port is reflected in the wide range of people who have Seafield Cemetery as their final resting place. The headstones tell a story of people from all walks of life, and frequently with a nautical connection. Inscriptions record the passing of locals ranging from James Bolam JP, first Principal of Leith Nautical College who died aged 91; through Alexander Gray who drowned in Antwerp Harbour aged 57; to 2 year old Archibald McLean who was lost in the Falklands “and never more seen”. There are also a large number of memorials to the dead of both world wars. Many of these memorials may be viewed online by visiting the cemetery section of this website.
On 28th April 1939 Seafield Crematorium was declared open by The Right Honourable Lord Salvesen, and a dedication was given by The Right Reverend James Black, Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland. The first cremation, carried out 3rd May 1939 was of the late Adam Noble, a farm worker from Roslin.
The changes in society in general and attitudes to bereavement in particular, have been immense over the last 120 or so years. Seafield Cemetery and Crematorium have sensitively changed with the times and proudly provide a modern service while retaining traditional values.